Here is the short version, or at least I’ll try to keep it short.


Simply put, Ayurveda is a system of medicine that’s based in nature. It’s expanded on the understanding that everything is changing, moving, observable and in relation to one another.

In Ayurveda, food is foundational and digestion is the master system. But it’s not all about food. Ayurveda is food and lifestyle medicine. Ayurveda says; “sure, you eat healthy and work-out, but if you are eating raw broccoli or those 5 seed dry crackers at 11PM in the middle of winter while you are anxious and can’t sleep, that ‘healthy’ food will do more harm than good.” So, if you’re the type that is doing everything healthy and still having mental and physical issues, Ayurveda is for you. Ayurveda is really for everyone but we’ll start here.

In my experience with Ayurveda, two themes are common-- fix digestion and everything else falls into place AND the mind steers the ship. Most Ayurvedic methods of treatments are based on boosting digestive fire, healing methods by elimination of wastes and removing toxins. Yoga is the sister science of Ayurveda with the goal of creating a balanced mind.

One of the best things about Ayurveda is that all treatment modalities are UNIQUE to you, YOUR body type and YOUR mental tendencies. Ayurveda isn’t a fad that your neighbor Carly is doing to lose weight quickly and get better skin. Ayurveda is a lifestyle that ensures sustained results.

Want to learn more?

Abstract Water

Ayurveda is the science of life. It’s the oldest and most holistic medical system. It is a medical system that was curated in the Vedas a very very long time ago. If you google, “how old are the vedas” it will say about 10 centuries old.

Alright, so what are the Vedas? The Vedas are ancient texts or systems of information presented in ancient India. They are a collection of wisdom, or otherwise known as a “bank of wisdom.”

Then, the Dharsanas were made based off of the Vedas. Dharshana means “lens, or the action of seeing.” The Dharshanas are 6 different world views aimed to reduce suffering. The cosmology of Ayurveda is one of the 6.


Image by Paul Bulai

The cosmology of Ayurveda is based on this concept of a descending motion of consciousness into matter. It descends into the 5 states of matter or, loosely put, the elements: Ether, Air, Fire, Water and Earth. These states of matter make up the material world, including your physical body. As your consciousness descended into your physical body, a genetic blueprint was made out of the subtle form of these 5 elements. This determines your body type aka your DOSHA.  

How was the blueprint made? Well, the arrangement of these elements and their state is based off of the emotions, environment, time of life, time of day, state of imbalance and season that your mother and father were experiencing all combined at the time of your conception. All the stars aligned into this perfectly imperfect mess that is YOU. So, as you can probably guess at this point, Ayurveda is NOT a “one size fits all” system of medicine. This is why it is so important stop dieting with fad diets, stop doing what everyone else is doing because it works for them and start to figure out what works for YOU.

WHat is the cosmology of ayurveda?

Tropical Leaves

The word dosha means fault line. The doshas are: Vata, Pitta, and Kapha.  It gives you information as to how you can achieve wellness, your tendency to go out of balance, and your tendency towards disease. All five elements came together to make your human body and mind. Essentially your dosha is the manager of 2 of the elements.

Matter has 3 rates of change called the GUNAS. They are rajas, tamas and sattva. Your doshic prakruti (your body type/structure) does not change over your life time. But, your state of imbalance does change depending on your diet, emotional factors, environment, season and whether the information you take in through your senses are harmonious or not to your dosha. Typically, people living in this westernized world we live in, are stuck in a tamastic--rajastic (moving from very slow to very fast paced) cycle which can cause imbalances.

Vata = Ether + Air. Pitta = Fire + Water. Kapha = Water + Earth. You can also be a combination of these (Vata-Pitta, Pitta-Kapha, Vata-Kapha) or tri-docic meaning you’re equal parts of all three.

What is a Dosha?